Paper Details  

3 Pages
771 Words

    Filter Topics  

Create a new account

It's simple, and free.

The General Features of the United Nations System of Organizations

N. peacekeeping forces. It has five permanent members with veto powers as established by the U.N. Charter (the USA, France, Britain, Russia, and China), and ten rotating members nominated by regional causes and elected by the General Assembly to two-year terms. Decisions on substantive matters require a majority of nine votes with no veto, and Security Council resolutions are binding on all U.N. members. To at least a small extent, U.N. members has thus ceded some sovereignty to it.

The Trusteeship Council consists of the five permanent members of the Security Council. In 1945 it had more members and administered eleven trust territories, but only one small group of islands remains in trust. Hence this council has become in effect a minor substructure under the Security Council.

The Economic and Social Council, operating under the authority of the General assembly, coordinates the economic and social work of the U.N. and its large family of specialized and affiliated institutions and INGOs. Its 54 members, 18 being elected each year to a three-year term by the General Assembly, meets in an annual plenary session that alternates between New York and Geneva. The major world organizations that report to the ECOSOC, or for whom ECOSOC serves as a coordinating body, include the Food and Agriculture Organization, the International Fund for Agricultural Development, the International Labor Organization, the International Monetary Fund, the International Telecommunication Union, UNESCO, the U.N. Industrial Development Organization, the Universal Postal Union, the World Bank, the World Health Organization, the World Intellectual Property Organization, the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, and the International Atomic Energy Agency.

The International Court of Justice hears cases referred to it by member nations and advises the General Assembly and Security Council upon request. Its fifteen


Page 1 of 3 Next >

    More on The General Features of the United Nations System of Organizations...

APA     MLA     Chicago
The General Features of the United Nations System of Organizations. (1969, December 31). In Retrieved 21:39, September 20, 2017, from
Copyright © 1999 - 2017 All Rights Reserved. DMCA